Mission Statement | Membership | Board Members | Committees | Contact Us

Mission Statement

The mission of the Society of Ultrasound in Medical Education (SUSME)  is to promote the use of ultrasound in medical education through development of educational experiences, research on outcomes, and distribution of results.

The Society of Ultrasound in Medical Education is a 501C3 organization committed to promoting ultrasound in medical education. It is an academic society that will help guide the development of best practices in teaching and testing of medical students, residents and other trainees in the field of clinical ultrasound.

  • Annual Meeting – held in conjunction with the Annual AAMC Meeting
  • Membership Dues – free
  • Member Categories:


  • Active Member  – medical educator, right to vote and hold office
  • Associate Member – others with a strong interest in ultrasound education , right to vote but not to  hold office
  • Student Member  – individual currently enrolled in a healthcare education program, cannot vote or hold office
  • Join the Society of Ultrasound in Medical Education

Board Members

  • President –Michael Blaivas – Professor, Emergency Medicine, Department of Emergency Medicine, Northside Hospital, Forsyth, Atlanta, GA; President elect WINFOCUS
  • Vice President – Jeanette Mladenovic – Provost, Oregon Health Science University
  • Treasurer – Celia Hartman,  University of South Carolina  School of Medicine
  • Secretary – Sarah Fletcher Harper, Web Services Librarian, University of South Carolina  School of Medicine
  • Alfred Abuhamad – Chair, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Eastern Virginia Medical School; President elect, American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine
  • Richard Hoppmann, Dean, University of South Carolina  School of Medicine
  • Scott Dulchavsky – Chair of Surgery, Wayne State University; PI, NASA Ultrasound Space Station Program
  • Keith Killu – Clinical Assistant Professor at Wayne State University School of Medicine and Senior Staff Attending at Henry Ford Hospital, Department of Surgery, Division of Acute Care.
  • Bruce Kimura – Medical Director of Noninvasive Cardiology at Scripps Mercy Hospital, Associate Professor, University of California -San Diego
  • Duncan Howe – Ultrasound Programs Coordinator, University of South Carolina  School of Medicine
  • David Bahner – Associate Professor and Director of Ultrasound at the Ohio State University Medical Center Department of Emergency Medicine
  • John S. Pellerito – Professor of Radiology at the Hofstra University School of Medicine and at the New York University School of Medicine.
  • J. Oscar Barahona – President of Greenwich Ultrasound Associates, PC
  • Alexander B. Levitov – Professor of Medicine Eastern Virginia Medical School


  • Executive Committee
  • Nominating Committee
  • Membership Committee
  • Medical Education Committee

Contact Us